Looking Forward (and a friendly Howdy-do!)

On Monday, Michelle chose to look back over 2011 and reflect on the year, as so many

I prefer to look ahead, with my trusty crystal ball, of course.

people do in this season. I, however, would rather look ahead. No experience in rocket science is necessary to understand why–Michelle’s debut was in 2011. Mine will be in 2012.

She has the grand, scary, wonderful, much dreamed of, overwhelming, underwhelming, whoop-di-do moment behind her, with all its baggage. She expressed eloquently in her Monday post what that has all been like for her.

For me, 2011 is nothing I want to dwell on. It was a mercurial year in my personal life, but in my career and debut author experience, it was a bit of a sandwich year. Except the sandwich is wrong side out. My two all beef patties came in 2010, with the actual acquisition of my book, and in 2012, with its release. 2011 seems to have just been a bit of white-bread bun in the middle, with the special sauce of a great cover right at the end.

Load me up with all the extras! (photo courtesy of Grant Cochrane / FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

2012, though! In 2012 I’m looking forward to the lettuce, cheese, pickles, and onions. with ARCs, reviews, release parties, signings, and maybe even a school visit or two.  As to how vinegary the pickles turn out to be, or how spicy the onions, that remains to be seen.

Will it be, as Michelle said,  the best of years?

Will it be the worst of years?

I don’t know, Michelle, although as long as we’re quoting Dickens, I hope we both get the chance to say “Please, sir, may I have another?” in the publishing world. I’m thinking we will. If I’ve learned one thing in this industry, there are no crystal balls and the future is never entirely clear, but as you so aptly reminded us all on Monday, there is plenty of hope and new opportunities for those who keep the faith.

And so on behalf of everyone at EMU’s Debuts, we wish Michelle Ray a fond, “see you later,” since we really aren’t willing to let her get very far away.

In the meantime, we will soon be welcoming some NEW people to the EMU nest. (Okay, for all you sticklers for accuracy out there, Emus don’t make nests, they lay their green eggs directly on the ground. My use here falls under the category of artistic license. )  Ahem. As I was saying, we will be joined in February by Tara Lazar, Peter Salomon, and Laurie Boyle Crompton, and maybe more.

Peter Salomon’s debut novel HENRY FRANKS will be published by Flux late in 2012.

Laurie Boyle Crompton’s FANGIRL will be published by Sourcebooks in Fall 2012. If you want to see what it was like for her getting that news, check out her blog!

Tara Lazar’s debut picture book MONSTORE will be published by Aladdin (S&S) in 2013. Tara is also known for her PiBoIdMo answer to NaNoWriMo.

So, dear readers (I’ve always wanted to say that), we bid Michelle a fond farewell, but extend a friendly “howdy-do” to some new members in 2012.

What’s more, we expect to see a whole slew of debuts this year. So, without further ado, and before my colloquial verbiage gets any farther out of control, here’s what lies ahead in 2012:

WE’VE GOT A JOB by Cynthia Levinson debuts February 1, 2012

THE WICKED AND THE JUST by J. Anderson Coats debuts April 17, 2012

ONE FOR THE MURPHYS by Lynda Mullaly Hunt debuts in May 2012

  FLYING THE DRAGON by Natalie Lorenzi debuts July 1, 2012

KATERINA’S WISH by Jeannie Mobley (me!) debuts August 28, 2012

GEEKS, GIRLS, AND SECRET IDENTITIES by Mike Jung debuts in fall 2012

LEAGUE OF STRAYS by LB Schulman debuts in Fall of 2012

You know what? I think I’m liking 2012 already.

9 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Writing, Writing and Life

9 responses to “Looking Forward (and a friendly Howdy-do!)

  1. Jeannie, I’m sure you are going to have a delicious 2012. Enjoy every bite of it!

  2. I love this post! SO clever! And, yes, it will be one heck of a year, for sure–however it all pans out.

    Can’t wait to get my hands on ALL of these books!

  3. Genius. The hamburger. Haha. Best of luck to you and all the other debuters.

  4. J. Anderson Coats

    2012 is gonna be awesome!

    And welcome new EMUs! Can’t wait to hear what you guys have to say.

  5. Bring on 2012 with extra pickles!!!

    Best wishes for post-debut authordom, Michelle! I enjoyed your posts here.

    Looking forward to the new voices of Peter, Laurie and Tara adding to the wonderful EMUDebut mix!

  6. Natalie Dias Lorenzi

    Welcome, Peter, Laurie and Tara!

    I love 2012, and we’re only 4 days in. :-)

  7. I’m hungry. And, I just finished dinner. So, it must not be because of the juicy burger photo and description. I must be hungry for all those great looking 2012 books and all those great sounded 2012-13 books from future EMUs. Congratulations to Jeannie for a great post and an upcoming book; to EMUs all for a wildly successful first blog-year; to Michelle, whom we’ll miss dearly, for being the first past the treacherous first-past-the-publication post, and to the new EMUs who are joining us.

Leave a Reply

