Regarding physical evidence, or, lookit, vlogging!

Yes, that’s my snaggletoothed countenance you see up there on the screen in the video clip below, aargh! I’ve heard that people have had trouble watching these embedded clips in WordPress, so you can also go watch it directly on YouTube.

Aaaaand now that I’ve watched it again I see there are INACCURACIES! Oh the horror! I feel defeated by the thought of shooting another take, so I’ll just say I actually have a TON of ink-on-paper artifacts, haha, including the edited manuscripts, the editorial letters, the “welcome to the family, yo” cards from my publisher and agency, and the Arthur A. Levine Books coffee mug that holds the position of honor above my desk. So I suppose the whole vlog post is a big lie, but what are you gonna do? The emotional content is real! MY EMOTIONAL VULNERABILITY IS PAINFUL AND TRUE TO LIFE…

A question you’re probably asking is “gee whiz Mike, what added value do I get by watching this post instead of reading it?” And the answer is a resounding and definitive “I DON’T KNOW.” I haven’t vlogged in quite a while, though, and I have this relatively new iPad, and it’s so much easier than it was with my Flip camera, and it was fun. There, there’s the answer. IT WAS FUN FOR ME. Also, you can see how narrow the video clip is, so you’ve now got a concrete demonstration of why you should always shoot vlog clips in landscape orientation. Look at those huge black bars on the sides! My big head looks tiny! Hmm, that might actually be a good thing…

m.

27 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

27 responses to “Regarding physical evidence, or, lookit, vlogging!

  1. Mike, this may be one of the funnest, honestest posts on EMUs ever! Waiting to find out how your publisher is going to publicize your book is nerve-wracking. I kept coming up with great–just great!–ideas. Were they reasonable? Who knew? I’m a debut, too.

    Like

    • Mike Jung

      Aw, thanks Cynthia! It IS a bit nerve-racking, if also exciting, and I have absolutely no idea what I myself plan on doing. Err, I suppose eventually I’ll talk to a publicist or something?

      Like

  2. Great post! One of my life goals is to attend an ALA Conference — preferably as an author. Now I need to add something else to my bucket list — get a cool poster for one of my books like Deborah. Also on the bucket list in a nonwriting category? Learn to juggle. I guess I need to talk to Phil Bildner about that. Congratulations, Mike! I hope you get to Anaheim, and I hope your paper galleys do too.

    Like

    • Mike Jung

      Thanks Pat! It was just confirmed, I’m definitely going!! Woohoo! I used to be able to juggle a little bit – only three objects, and not for longer than 20 seconds, but still… 🙂

      Like

  3. That was fun post!!!!! I wanna do this!!!!! Mike, need lessons!!!!!! Okay, back to you. I mean, this post really wasn’t about me. So, anyway, I hope you get your galleys in time. ALA is the PERFECT place for you to be at the perfect time. Congrats! I bet I’ll be hanging a Jung Poster one day soon.

    Like

    • Mike Jung

      Thanks Lisa! Lessons? You got it. ALA is gonna be fantastic, I think – I’ll be in library-related events most of the time, but I’ll squeeze in time to just be a writer too…

      Like

  4. Having galleys at ALA sounds like something meant to be for someone who works in a library by day and as an author the rest of the time. Since your release is in the fall, I think having ARCs by June is highly likely.

    Like

  5. Why can’t I download your Vlogs for safekeeping, Mike? I want to watch them again and again…
    ( 🙂 )
    Good luck with your debut novel, though I don’t think you’ll need luck. I have no doubt it’s entertaining.

    Like

  6. Yay! It’s Mike in the almost flesh!

    Like

  7. Natalie Dias Lorenzi

    Now you’re talkin’ like a librarian, Mike! Artifacts, primary sources…although watch Jeannie swoop in and say that now you’re talking’ like an anthropologist. 😉

    I’d love a signed Mike Jung poster for our school library–I’ll put it right next to our signed SHARK VS. TRAIN poster. 🙂

    Like

  8. Artifacts are fun! May you accumulate lots!

    Like

  9. Arcs at ALA sounds awesome!! Here’s hoping =D

    Like

  10. Great vlog, Mike! Have a blast at ALA. The one time I’ve been, it turned out to be so, so memorable! Enjoy! I love Deborah’s poster!!

    Like

    • Mike Jung

      Thanks Lynda, I’m really looking forward to it. And Deborah certainly deserves that poster, as well as all of the other good things that have happened along the way!

      Like

  11. Okay, okay, MIke! I’ll make a poster of the miniskirt picture for you to give out at ALA. All you had to do was ask.

    Of course it won’t be quite as cute as Deborah’s poster. Probably not as cute as your vlog either.

    Like

  12. Yay!! Feel like I’ve finally ‘met’ you, Mike! Awesome job and what fun!

    Like

  13. Pingback: Vlogging Tips from a Newbie Vlogger | EMU's Debuts

Leave a Reply

