The Slumbering Beast of Marketing and Promotion

I know, I know – what, Mike, are you gonna pretend you haven’t been doing that stuff all along? Well yes, OBVIOUSLY. But watch this YouTube clip anyway, wontcha? And please ignore the fact that I’ve once again managed to use the wrong orientation. Those black bars on the side of the clip are very decorative!

GEEKS, GIRLS, AND SECRET IDENTITIES is in the Fall 2012 Scholastic catalog!

Official promotional materials from the publisher, yo. Nice, iddnit?

So, yeah, I suppose that’s somewhat less than insightful, but it’s so cool just to see the stuff!!! I was also surprised by how much I actually wanted to read the whole thing – there’s all sorts of interesting little bits of detailed info in there. Some books have audio versions, others don’t. Some books get majestic, two-page spreads, while others get single pages (which is still pretty majestic, don’t get me wrong). Most books appear to be available as ebooks, but definitely not all of them. And in the back of the catalog are handy indexes organized by month, imprint, title, or author. And then, of course, the ordering information. A fascinating little glimpse at a different part of the publishing mechanism….

But anyway, I kept this particular vlog clip under 3 minutes, a new personal record!!! Congratulate me! Come on! High five! You can do it! Put it right…dude, why won’t you give me a high five? THE FACT THAT WE’RE NOT IN THE SAME ROOM IS NO EXCUSE

m.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “The Slumbering Beast of Marketing and Promotion

  1. Natalie Dias Lorenzi

    Giving you a high ten from 3,000 miles away, Mike! How exciting to see the Scholastic catalog that includes your book–hooray! Thanks so much for the shout-out for Flying the Dragon–can’t wait for your ARC to come out. 🙂

    Like

    • Mike Jung

      *high five* Hey Natalie, ALA Anaheim would be the perfect time to see ARCs, wouldn’t it? I don’t know if that’ll happen, but it’d sure be nice. And you’re very welcome. 🙂

      Like

      • Natalie Dias Lorenzi

        YES! ALA Anaheim would be the perfect time. I’m betting your ARCs will be there. Just saying’.

        Like

  2. Mike, wow, that was so short for you! Actually, just right, so good job. Your catalog page is beautiful. I just saw mine, too, only I don’t have the hard copy like you. Wow, that is super exciting. At Asilomar, (an SCBWI conference in California), I, like you, also thought about the slumbering beast of marketing and he or she sure is slumbering. Time to wake him/her up. Time to find get to know him/her like a character. Time to figure out what gender he/she is. Good luck with that, and send all your ideas my way, okay?

    Like

    • Mike Jung

      Ooh, I wanna see YOUR catalog page. It is super exciting, right? I’ll share any and all ideas I have…as soon as I have some, anyway…

      Like

  3. J. Anderson Coats

    Can I just say how impressed I am that your daughter didn’t make a cameo in this? She is the model of restraint. Or Dora the Explorer is just that awesome.

    Like

    • Mike Jung

      She showed amazing restraint! It was almost like she’d been taken and replaced with an obedient android. Which is silly, because that wouldn’t…happen…right? *runs off to check*

      Like

  4. Your short-but-sweet-vlog conveyed exactly what it needed to. As for the slumbering beast, I figure being listed on the big bookselling sites is the alarm bell sounding that hibernation’s over.

    BTW, this means you have an official release day, right?

    Like

    • Mike Jung

      Thanks Jeanne! No official day yet, just the month! Funny thing is, I’ve been on and off the big bookselling sites for a while now, but Amazon clearly just updated their listing with info from the new catalog…

      Like

  5. *high five* Love seeing your book in the catalogue! It’s real! It’s real!

    That video orientation makes you look thin. Great choice.

    Like

  6. Laurie Boyle Crompton

    *High Fives from NY*!! So excited to see things moving forward for your book! And my, what good and quiet children you have. I couldn’t vlog until mine cleared out of the house.

    Like

    • Mike Jung

      Thanks Laurie! Yeah, the 5 year old was very, very restrained, but she was watching “It’s the Easter Beagle, Charlie Brown,” and she’s currently obsessed with painting Easter eggs, so it was probably more about that than about her inherent level of calm, which is very, very low…

      Like

  7. Consider this a high-ten, Mike! (Five just isn’t enough.) It’s so much fun seeing my friends’ books rolling out!

    Like

    • Mike Jung

      *high ten* It IS fun! I’m sorry I couldn’t be at your launch party, Cynthia, but it sounds like it was a phenomenal event, which is only fitting for such a phenomenal book. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

