The Waiting. It Burns.

Whew, that was some fun launch party! Lots of streamer scraps and deflated balloons around this blog today. And the celebration continues for the winner of our giveaway. The lucky teacher who has won lots of cool swag as well as a free 30-45-minute SKYPE Q&A with Lynda Mullaly Hunt is….. Bobi Martin! Congratulations!! Woo Hoo! More confetti!!

It’s a good thing this blog is self-cleaning.

I can hardly wait for the next Emu to debut! Fortunately I’ve gotten really good at waiting. As anyone out on submission knows, this publishing journey is filled with long stretches of waiting. Waiting to hear back on queries. Then waiting to hear back on fulls. Then waiting to hear back on revisions. And then hopefully if things go well… waiting on an acquisitions meeting that you maybe have a ‘really good feeling about’ but that can take weeks to hear back on. Here I vlog about the agony of waiting (with actual unretouched footage of myself waiting to hear the outcome of a certain exciting acquisitions meeting).

I’m thrilled that the waiting in this case has resulted in the sale of my newest novel, ADRENALINE, to FSG/Macmillian for publication in early 2014. Squeeee! I couldn’t be happier. Waiting for new release celebrations are the best sort of waiting.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “The Waiting. It Burns.

  1. So, Laurie, do you just have hidden cameras installed all around your house, or what? =)

    Seriously, I love your vlogs, which always crack me up. And many, many congratulations on the shiny new book deal!!

    Like

  2. Laurie Boyle Crompton

    Thanks Tara! And haaaa – I was sort of hoping to catch ‘The Call’ on video again like I did with my first book but finally gave up because the footage I was getting was just too pathetic. Glad I found a use for it. 🙂

    Like

  3. How cute are you??!!!

    Yes, the waiting is agonizing. And then, when the waiting is over, you have to wait all over again! I won’t tell you how long I’ve been waiting on one particular book. But, it may make the Guinness Book of World Records!

    Like

    • Laurie Boyle Crompton

      Oooo Good Luck!!! I’ve been fortunate with fairly short wait times at this stage – but made up for it with the years and years of rejection I endured beforehand. Fortunately there is no footage from that time. Nobody needs to see me ugly-crying 🙂

      Like

  4. Back when I was waiting to hear about my first YA novel, I was too busy with my kids to really fret about the waiting. Now, I just try to pretend the book’s not out there and keep moving forward. I look forward to the day when it all pays off…

    (Tara L., I may give you a run for your money on waiting time. We’ll talk someday!) 🙂

    Like

  5. You are such a hoot, Laurie! There really is nothing positive to say about the agony of waiting, is there? But you’ve used your time very well. Congrats again on the sale!

    Like

  6. Laurie Boyle Crompton

    Thanks Jeanne! I’m so thrilled with the way everything turned out!

    Like

  7. Laurie, I see you are using your waiting time as productively as I do. I have a few other strategies that go with the head on the desk part: running hands through hair, playing with hair, plucking out gray hairs (not that it makes me look any less gray), incessantly checking email, etc.

    Like

  8. Natalie Dias Lorenzi

    Loved this, Laurie! So glad the waiting has paid off…now we, your readers, have to wait until we can get our hands on your books!

    Like

Leave a Reply

