Taking a Break (But Not Really)

Somedays it’s hard for me to believe that I’m going to be a published author and I’m a part of this talented, fun group of EMU’s. I mean, who am I? A real housewife from New Jersey! (Yes, the real kind who does laundry and cooks dinner and wears pajamas all day.)

So I look around at all my debut friends and realize they’re vlogging. So I’d better pick up the pace and join them. I recorded my first-ever vlog, which may prove to be the most boring video on earth…but nonetheless, it’s here for your viewing pleasure (or displeasure, as the case may be).

In it, I reveal how I scored my second book contract. By taking a break. Sort of.

26 Comments

Filed under craft~writing, Writing, Writing and Life

26 responses to “Taking a Break (But Not Really)

  1. tinamcho

    This was great, Tara! It was fun hearing your voice for the first time. So I guess I need to take my troublesome ms into the shower w/me. haha. Thanks for the tips!

    Like

  2. ADORABLE! Laugh-out-loud funny – especially when you came out of the shower with the dripping paper. OMG! You killed it! This VLLLOOOOG is so cute, that now I am too threatened to try one. Are you satisfied?? Ugh!

    Like

  3. Tara, please say Vlog for me one more time 😉
    Congrats on your first Vlog, and thanks for the tip. I have quite a few ms that need a shower too 😉

    Like

  4. Tara,

    OMG you’re so funny. That was a great vlog *hack* Oh look, a snail! I love the way you edited the video.

    I’ve had ideas in the shower and while driving, always in the places when it’s tough to write it down. My bigger issue seems to be finishing something. I’m not sure what stops me – the fact it will be done, the fear of failure, the fear of success or just not knowing when I’m finished. I think it’s a combination of all of the above. Do you ever have that issue?

    I look forward to your next vlog…..V-log……vlog.
    Madeline

    Like

    • I have had the “fear of finishing” with my middle grade novel. It’s a little because I really like what I’ve done thus far and I’m afraid of ruining it, and it’s a little because I am far more comfortable writing short than long. I keep telling myself to take it “bird by bird” but I have a lot more fun writing picture books, so that’s what I keep coming back to.

      Like

  5. Loved it! Hihgly unpredictable. The robe/hairdryer scene was my favorite! Great advice! Wonderful to hear your voice. =)

    Like

  6. Great tips, thanks. Just curious why your site is called emusdebuts? I know you aren’t Australian (I am btw). I’ve never met an Emu I didn’t like.

    Like

  7. ‘Navigation to web page was canceled’ (with one l, so it’s not a British cancellation). I can’t see the vlog, sadly…

    Like

  8. Laurie Boyle Crompton

    Love it!!! You are an absolute natural at vlogging, even if the term doesn’t quite roll off your tongue! 🙂

    Like

  9. Tara, that was so funny and great! I especially loved the paper-in-the-shower bit. Man, these EMUs are a talented bunch. 🙂 I think that you, Mike, and Laurie should band together and teach an SCBWI seminar on humorous vlogging (however it’s pronounced)!

    Like

  10. Your first go at vlogging? You nailed it! Now, you just need a waterproof writing system for your shower.

    Like

  11. Hi Tara. Loved your first vlog. Nice to put a voice to your face.

    Like

  12. Well done, Tara…great job for your first attempt. You are a natural, and I agree, it’s good to see you in “action”!

    Like

  13. Tara, is there nothing you can’t do? You are talented, creative, funny, and now an actor too? Wowsers! You go, Girl! (although, that wasn’t really acting was it? It was just being you. Love it!)

    Like

  14. Well done, Tara. Fun to see you in action. What’s the next one going to be about?

    Like

  15. Brianna Soloski

    Fun! I also do my best thinking in the shower, or when I’m walking somewhere. I’ve been known to type notes into my phone as I walk. Probably not the best idea, but I’m still here, so I guess it’s worked out okay.

    Like

  16. Hilarious and informative! Yes! Thanks for sharing Tara.

    Like

  17. Penny Morrison

    third time lucky…I finally got it to work. Now I feel like I really know you, Tara, now that I know how you pronouce vlaaahg (and seen you in your dressing gown)

    Like

  18. Awesome Tara! You are a vlog natural!!

    Like

  19. Fantastic vlog, Tara! Loved it.
    Does anyone know where to get a waterproof laptop?

    Like

  20. This, Tara, was a hoot! Do more!

    Like

  21. Pingback: Author School Visit Vlog! In Which I Appear Very Animated and Slightly Ethereal « Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Leave a Reply

