It’s All True

Just one more paragraph.

Just one more paragraph.

It’s all true, what they say about us writers. We’re introverts by nature, many of us. We spend a large portion of our working day in our PJs. I myself, as I write this, have not yet showered or combed my hair. It’s nearly noon.

Sometimes I wonder how many people try writing because they think it would be cool to say, “Yeah, I’m a writer” and “My last novel was optioned for a movie” and stuff like that. I mean, what do these aspiring authors really think it’ll be like once they’re published? Parades? Red carpets? Paparazzi and civilians alike fawning over you wherever you go?

Not an actual writer.

Not an actual writer.

Because we who write for this blog, we know better. Writing is hard. It can be downright painful. There’s that famous quote about writing:

Writing is easy:  All you do is sit staring at a blank sheet of paper until drops of blood form on your forehead. (attributed to journalist and screenwriter Gene Fowler)

Yep. But then …

… the posts on this blog reveal a glimpse into what our dripping foreheads and tangled hair can accomplish for ourselves personally. Melanie Crowder writes of how one writer experiences a walk on the beach in her Monday post. Laurie Boyle Crompton, in last week’s video, holds up her debut novel’s fetching cover and you can feel her giddiness, her charming mixture of pride and modesty, maybe even a little anxiety about how her upcoming launch parties are all going to play out. Pat Zietlow Miller and Tara Lazar mention the twinge of a thrill that goes through you when you first find your book listed for preorder online. There’s the staggering thought that soon, somewhere, everywhere, there’ll be young readers opening your book for the first time and falling into the story you’ve created. Mind-blowing.

There are no parades for us debut authors, but there will be moments after your book arrives when you’re the center of attention and you’ll feel how much people like you, really like you, when you become an Author. They ask you to pose for photos with their children. They seem authentically flattered when you sit with them at lunch. Your family members leave you alone more when you’re working at your desk, and other writers seem to take your opinions on “the process” more seriously. Hey, even we introverts can appreciate that kind of love.

So, that’s my take on the truth about being a writer. It’s grueling and rewarding, with emphasis on the gruel. Aspiring writers, if you can work with that you’ll be just fine.

Now then. I’m off to take a shower.

7 Comments

Filed under Anxiety, Celebrations, Satisfaction, Writing

7 responses to “It’s All True

  1. mima tipper

    Thanks for sharing, Carol, and now I’m off to take my shower:-D

    Like

  2. Mike Jung

    Yup. The fun stuff can be REALLY fun, but even the fun stuff is work, and in the end it all comes back to parking your hindquarters in the chair and putting one word after another. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have this sudden craving for a bowl of gruel…

    Like

    • Carol Brendler

      Yes it does take work to prepare for book signings and school visits and such. Especially coming up with a Sartorial Ensemble for the event that isn’t made of flannel with Hello Kitty faces all over it.

      Like

  3. Haaaaa! Love the ‘Not an actual writer’ photo!! So true! 😀

    Like

  4. When I start making the big bucks I’m going to stop doing my own keyboarding. I’m hiring that “not an actual writier” guy, and I’m going to dictate my novels to him, and he’s going to smile at me like that the whole time, then get me a cup of coffee to enjoy while he types it all up.

    Like

  5. I love your description of writers. So true! And when we readers fall in love with your books, you reach rockstar status in our minds! My kids and I are really enjoying meeting KidLit authors that come to town. We appreciate the blood, sweat and tears of what you do every day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

