Sophie’s Squash–Ripe for the Picking!

. . . off-the-wall absurdity and absolute believability . . .

Fourstars

So editor Anne Schwartz describes Pat Zietlow Miller’s debut picture book, Sophie’s Squash. With its four starred reviews and its pitch-perfect illustrations by Anne Wilsdorf, Pat’s story of a girl and her beloved butternut, Bernice, is well on its way to becoming a favorite with kids and adults alike!

Sophie's Squash by Pat Zietlow Miller Schwartz and Wade, 2013 ISBN: 978-0-307-97896-7

Sophie’s Squash
by Pat Zietlow Miller
Schwartz and Wade, 2013
ISBN: 978-0-307-97896-7

Remember, there’s a giveaway!!! Leave a comment on this post and you’ll be in the running to win your very own copy of Sophie’s Squash AND temporary tattoos (amaze your friends, become the life of the party) W00! We’ll announce the winner next week.

So, dear readers, we have had a stellar time this week (stellar, as in STAR-like–see what I did there?) bringing you interviews with the book’s editor, its illustrator and with Author Pat herself; tales of real-life much-loved objects from childhood; and perhaps the most funnest post of all, photos of our own squash babies sharing our real-life adventures. A bit “off-the-wall”–am I right? We especially enjoyed celebrating Pat’s authorial success, those starred reviews, and the release of Sophie’s Squash out into the wild. (Don’t miss this book! Order your own copy by clicking the book’s image at left!)

Aside to Pat Zietlow Miller: Brava! Well done! And keep us posted about your next books (some of which are already in the works!) You’re on your way, girl! 2013-02-24 04.03.04

10 Comments

Filed under Celebrations

10 responses to “Sophie’s Squash–Ripe for the Picking!

  1. Cynthia Levinson

    I’m just debating how many copies to buy. 3? 19? 47? If I won one, that would help!

    Like

  2. Kelley

    I’d love to win a copy of Sophie’s Squash! It sounds like a great book!

    Like

  3. I’m with Cynthia! How many copies? I have one in my possession now, but I can think of so many people who NEED this book!

    Like

  4. Hooray! This looks like such a wonderful book. I will definitely be keeping it in mind for my young friends when the holidays roll around.

    Like

  5. So many worthy family members that this would make a great gift for – how to choose, how to choose? Maybe I should just buy them for myself? 🙂

    Like

  6. A book that will no doubt resonate with every child and from the photos of our own personal squash babies, it must also be resonating with many adults! Can’t wait to read it — sounds terrific!

    Like

  7. I know Pat and all the hard work she put in to create a truly charming book!

    Like

  8. kevanjatt

    I want this book!

    Like

  9. annbedichek

    Ooh — i would love to win a copy! My 3 year old is going to LOVE this book — and right now, we have a good number of zucchini that are candidates for adoption, so I’m hoping he finds it truly inspiring!

    Like

  10. Scott LeBaron

    I’m hoping to “squash” the others and win a copy! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

