Not-So-Deadly Deadlines

I love deadlines. Usually.

“Ummm… that’s due TOMORROW??”

I have a confession. I’m a terrible procrastinator. (Well, actually I’m a fabulous procrastinator. Ask my husband. “Have you made those reservations yet?” he will ask me. *Gulp…)

In fact, as I write this, I have deadlines for three projects. All due tomorrow.

*Deep breath* I can do this.

A few years ago I decided the time had come to finally get my master’s degree. After considering many options, I decided to do a crazy thing. I would take a leap of faith and apply for Vermont College’s master’s program in Writing for Children and Young Adults. Not only would I be adding a suggested 25 hours of reading and writing per week on top of teaching full time and being a wife and mom, I would need to complete 20 packets of work during the two-year program, including new manuscripts every month.

Where was I going to get ideas for 20 packets worth of new stories?? Oh, if I were working on a novel, maybe. I could add a few new chapters a month. But I write picture books. That’s two to six new story ideas every month.

The first month was covered. I had a few manuscripts saved up that I could pull out and submit. (It was a good thing, too, as we ended up moving that first month to a new house after living 17 years on our farm.)

Then came the second month. Again, I had a few stories I could dust off, plus a brand new idea or two. The third month rolled around, and once more I had new ideas. Every time I would come down to a due date, the ideas were there. Every time I hit “Send” I was sure that the idea well was now dry. Yet the next month would come, and with it came more ideas.

How was this working? Did panic get the creative juices flowing? Did I have a cooperative muse? Was it the power of prayer?

Panic and prayer notwithstanding, I think the secret lies in having a deadline. Deadlines help me organize my priorities. I am the WORST in the summer when I don’t have to show up for work. Somehow, the morning slips by without anything getting done. But if I have a deadline, it bumps laundry, weeding, and checking my email to a lower place on my “To Do” list, and I actually end up with something to show for my time.

Deadlines make me accountable to someone besides myself who will be expecting results. Not just any results, but my best work. When I am accountable to a critique partner, my agent or an editor, I don’t want to disappoint them. They are expecting something good to land in their inbox, and I don’t want them to see shoddy work, or worse yet, an empty inbox.

Finally, regular deadlines make me develop the habit of writing. And while practice may never make me a perfect writer, it certainly helps me improve my craft. I know that unless I actually show up to do the work, any creative juices, chance muses or divine interventions will pass me by.

So if you’re facing a revision, in need of some inspiration, or working on a new story, having a deadline just might be a lifeline.

Congratulations to Melanie Fishbane, winner of a copy of Adi Rule’s STRANGE SWEET SONG!

8 Comments

Filed under Advice, Anxiety, craft~writing, Deadlines, Deadlines, Education, Faith, Panic, Time Management, Uncategorized, Writing, Writing and Life

8 responses to “Not-So-Deadly Deadlines

  1. Amazing what a little helpful anxiety will do for you.

    Like

  2. Lindsey Lane

    I so agree, Rebecca. I can’t remember who told me once that there is creativity within the container. Probably a poet writing a pantoum or something equally hard.But it’s true. Sometimes the long luxurious expanses of time just don’t serve us well.

    Like

  3. Rebecca, I agree completely! Without a deadline, I will putter around forever. Deadlines keep me focused and make me get the work done.

    Like

  4. Yes! Totally agree. Lovelovelovelovehatelovelove deadlines. A master’s program like VCFA creates some great habits. Thanks for this post, Rebecca.

    Like

  5. I really admire your courage when facing DEADlines. I agree with everyone else that it really makes me work a lot harder and faster. But I have a hard time being truly creative under a deadline. It’s like telling myself, on cue, “Say something clever that everyone will laugh at. Go ahead and say it. Now!” When it comes to revisions and copyedits, though, I do really well knowing that I have to get something done by a certain date. Great post!!!

    Like

  6. I’m with you – deadlines are good things, even when life is crazy and creativity seems impossible. Thanks for this post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

