Cover Reveal: NOT IN THE SCRIPT

Friends!! It’s here!! My cover!!

And this isn’t just a cover reveal. Oh no. Read to the very end of this post and I’ll give you a link to where you could win an advanced copy of the novel that goes with it. NOT IN THE SCRIPT won’t officially be on shelves until October, but if you win this giveaway, you’ll get to read it within the next few weeks.

Some of you are probably wondering why an author would get this excited about revealing the cover of her upcoming novel to the entire world (or at least to the U.S., my family and friends in the UK, my three friends in Canada, the two bloggers I love in the Philippines and Australia, and my buddy Matt in Hong Kong), but THIS IS A PRETTY BIG DEAL FOR ME!

I started writing with the hope of getting published twelve years ago. NOT IN THE SCRIPT is the fifth novel-length manuscript I started—the fourth that I finished. But it’s the only novel I’ve ever felt brave enough to submit to publishers.

These long years of learning, writing, and revising have been really rough at times. I’ve had a lot of close calls, a lot of heartache. There were plenty of times when I wanted to give up. But whenever I’d see awesome new books on the shelves, with fancy covers and an author’s name printed on it in big block letters, instead of stomping my foot and saying “WHY isn’t that me?!” I’ve tried really hard to tell myself, “One day that will be me.”

That “one day” is today.

I finally have a fancy cover and it has my name on it. Here it is!

FINAL COVER Not_in_the_Script

Click on the cover to make it bigger!

Yay! I hope you love it as much as I do.

But even more so, I hope you’ll love what happens after you turn that cover over and start reading the pages. So here is my very first ARC (advanced reading copy) giveaway, and it’s sponsored by one of my favorite book review blogs, IceyBooks.com. Instructions on how to enter the giveaway will be there!

Another one of my favorite blogs is PopGoesTheReader.com (the reviews are fantastic!), and the host is revealing her own thoughts about my cover today.

This is way too much excitement for just one girl to handle, so thank you for sharing it with me! And a very big shout out to the fantastic art department at Bloomsbury! You guys rock!!

Want to know more about NOT IN THE SCRIPT? Read this: Millions of people witnessed Emma Taylor’s first kiss—a kiss that needed twelve takes and four camera angles to get right. After spending nearly all of her teen years performing on cue, Emma can’t help but wonder if any part of her life is real anymore . . . particularly her relationships. But her new costar, Jake Elliott, couldn’t care less about how many scenes he has to fake his way through; he needs the money. Toss in a reckless heartthrob, desperate for a comeback, and a resident diva who may or may not be as evil as she seems, and the production of Coyote Hills heats up in unexpected—and romantic—ways. Along with offering front row seats to the real life drama that often unfolds within the entertainment industry, NOT IN THE SCRIPT is a story about two not-so-typical teens who are searching for themselves, and just happen to find each other.

You can add it to your Goodreads “Want to Read” shelf here.

NOT IN THE SCRIPT will be released October 7th,  and is now available for pre-order (with discounted prices!) from Barnes & Noble, Amazon, and Books-a-Million.

_________________________________

IMG_0723-2Amy Finnegan writes her own stories because she enjoys falling in love over and over again, and thinks everyone deserves a happy ending. She likes to travel the world—usually to locations where her favorite books take place—and owes her unquenchable thirst for reading to Jane Austen and J.K. Rowling. Her debut novel, NOT IN THE SCRIPT, came about after hearing several years of behind-the-scenes stories from her industry veteran brother. She’s also been lucky enough to visit dozens of film sets and sit in on major productions such as Parks and Recreation and Parenthood. You can follow Amy on Twitter @ajfinnegan, or Facebook (Amy Finnegan, Author).

18 Comments

Filed under ARCs, cover art

18 responses to “Cover Reveal: NOT IN THE SCRIPT

  1. Congratulations on one day being today. There’s something about seeing a cover that hammers home the “this is real” feeling, isn’t there.

    Like

  2. Oh, Amy, I love your story! My hunt for a publisher is exactly as old as my fifteen-year-old daughter, so I can only imagine what you must be feeling. CONGRATULATIONS on turning that “One day it will be me” into “TODAY IT’S ME!!!” Can’t wait to celebrate your launch week with you! Woo hoo!

    Like

  3. Lindsey Lane

    Oooh, I love it. And I love the book description. This will be a fun read. Congratulations, Amy Finnegan.

    Like

  4. Congrats!!! The cover looks sooo awesome!!! I will definitely add this on my TBR list!!!

    Like

  5. kevanjatt

    Wooo hoooo! Congratulations, Amy. It looks g reat!

    Like

  6. Hooray, Amy! That cover is so adorable, your book is going to fly right off the shelves! I cannot wait to read it–and not only because Austen and Rowling are my two favorite authors, too. 🙂 Congratulations!

    Like

  7. So fun! Your excitement is palpable!

    Like

  8. Love the cover! Sounds like a great story – looking forward to reading it!!!

    Like

  9. Joshua McCune

    YAY!!!! CONGRATULATIONS, AMY!

    Like

  10. WONDERFUL cover! Can’t wait to read it–congrats!!

    Like

  11. Love the cover, especially the models they chose. Can’t wait to read it!

    Like

  12. Hooray for a fabulous cover!!! Hooray Amy!

    Like

  13. JoAnne

    So proud! Congratulations!

    Like

  14. Oh, Amy, your story is so relatable, and we share favorite authors, and your cover is GREAT! Between the synopsis and the design, people are going to grab it right up. Can’t wait to read it. Hooray!

    Like

  15. Kim

    I LOVE the cover, Amy! It’s completely fabulous. Congratulations!!!

    Like

  16. Love that cover!! Can’t wait for NOT IN THE SCRIPT!! 🙂

    Like

  17. Congratulations! It’s such a gorgeous cover!

    Like

Leave a Reply

