BE A CHANGEMAKER: Celebrating with Quotes!

Be A Changemaker by Laurie Ann ThompsonWe are continuing the celebration for Laurie Ann Thompson’s debut Be A Changemaker, which will be published on September 16. Inspirational quotes are peppered throughout the book, and so we Emu’s decided to share quotes that have been meaningful and motivating to us. We’d love to hear your favorite quotes too!

And remember, comment on any post this week and be entered to win a signed copy of Be A Changemaker!

 

 

From Donna Bowman Bratton:

This quote by Ben Franklin has been posted above my computer for years. It obviously speaks to the writer in me, but it hints, too, at taking conscious actions for change.

BrattonBF

 I love this quote by Charles Lamb because it so simply speaks to the heart of any good deed, large or small.

There-is-nothing-so-nice

 
Of course, the ultimate quote for any changemaker comes from Mahatma Gandhi:
 
5pWJ6M5WAPpBE33ztTSBvQ
 
 
 

 

From Jennifer Chambliss Bertman:

This quote reinforces my belief that even our smallest actions can make a difference, even though we may never witness the impact, and reminds me that I want to be someone who brightens the day for others, rather than tarnishes it.

 

9b446fffef984b3b0728c993d2a07a57

 

From Christine Hayes:

You can probably see why, as a writer, I find this quote inspiring. 🙂 I usually substitute “people” for “men” in my own mind, and I’ve seen that done all over the web as well, but I’m guessing the version below is the correct one. On the days when I feel especially short on talent, this quote keeps me going.

-isdSIAM3K7v0cmPPIo60Q

 

From Amy Finnigan:

bxcp-n3mqhAOHVZnVLvi9A

 

From Penny Parker Klostermann:

Dr. Seuss is kind of my go-to guy for a laugh or for a quick reminder that I’m in charge of doing the work it takes to reach my dreams.

j45O-BjeXXgyf6L4YzHGFg

From Lindsey Lane:

What I love about this quote is that Goethe was born in 1749 and I’ve experienced the ‘truth’ of his observation time and again. If I don’t begin, nothing happens.

 

snap

 

From Mylisa Larsen:

Usually when you see someone making something look effortless, it’s because they spent thousands of hours mastering whatever they’re making seem simple and inevitable. This is a quote that gets me back to my desk to put in some more hours.

 

mDhhRqbI9XdDN5tTs90h0w

 

From Joshua McCune:

This quote adapted from Emerson’s poem “Merlin’s Song” reminds me to not just live life to the fullest, but to live it as myself, to open myself to new experiences, and to do it with joy. It’s that last part that’s hardest for me. Scowl, and the world scowls at you. Smile, and the world smiles with you. The world could use more smiles.

DTWA

 

From Megan Morrison:

This idea is at the marrow of my personal belief system. Success requires two things: a clear vision and the will to carry it out, and this is true whether you want to change your wallpaper or change the world.  The first part is tricky, because it requires that we are honest with ourselves about what we want and what we are willing to do. The second part is grueling, because it requires consistent action over a long period of time, and that action must be sustained even during times of doubt and lack of inspiration. But commitment is its own reward. Nothing is more satisfying than to look back after many months and years of climbing a personal mountain to see how far you’ve really come.
 
First-say-to-yourself
 

 

 
 
 
From Rebecca Van Slyke:
I like this quote because I was so, SO close to that ‘give up’ point, but a friend sat me down and pointedly told me that I needed to keep going, fire my current agent, pursue a different agent, and keep writing. A few months later I had 4 books in contract.
 
 
3c3b1b1b92a8425df1d28eaa0654a5d3
 
 
 
 

 

From Dana Walrath:
 
gVh3EudFs6d-kKb9zLmMtA
 

 

 
 
 
m1SL0z_m7PgLDQdAIsM4pg
 

 

 
 
 
The-journey-of-a
 
 

You can get your own copy of BE A CHANGEMAKER from your local independent bookstore (find one here), or order it from your favorite national or online retailer such as Simon & SchusterPowell’sB&N, or Amazon.

And please comment here–or on any post this week–to be entered to win a signed ARC of BE A CHANGEMAKER by Laurie Ann Thompson!

14 Comments

Filed under Advice, Advice - Helpful or Otherwise, Celebrations, Creativity, Discipline, Faith, Happiness, Helpful or Otherwise, Launch, Patience, rejection and success

14 responses to “BE A CHANGEMAKER: Celebrating with Quotes!

  1. Lindsey Lane

    Oh Jenn, beautiful post. Emu’s, I love every quote. Oh Laurie, see what your book has wrought!!!

    Like

  2. This post was truly inspirational. I love the simplicity of a good, strong quote that is packed with meaning. Thanks!!

    Like

  3. tamaraellissmith

    Me too. Totally inspired!

    Like

  4. Catherine Johnson

    Fabulous quotes! Really inspiring.

    Like

  5. Catherine Johnson

    Reblogged this on Catherine Johnson and commented:
    I didn’t mean to post today but these quotes are awesome!

    Like

  6. Awesome, Jenn! Great quotes, and they look beautiful. That must have taken a lot of work.

    Like

  7. I love these all so much! Thank you for your beautiful work, Jenn!

    Like

  8. Okay.The embers under my butt just blew up in flames. Thank you all! I can hardly wait to get my hands on BE A CHANGEMAKER.

    Like

  9. You guys, I love each and every one of these quotes! I’m going to need a bigger office just so I can hang them all up on my walls. What an inspiring group you all are! HUGS!!!

    Like

  10. I am all about the quotes. In fact, many of my favorites are in this post. A few of my other favorites include this one from John Milton: “Long is the way, and hard, that out of hell leads up to light.” That reminds me to keep going when times are tough. And then there’s this one from William Wordsworth: “And then my heart with rapture fills, and dances with the daffodils.” That reminds me to celelbrate once I’ve achieved my goal.

    Like

  11. You made my day! Can’t wait till my copy arrives next week because I am totally pumped up by this book launch party!

    Like

  12. Wonderful quotes! The Emerson one is one of my favorites.

    Like

  13. I loved reading all these quotes. This is one of my favorites:

    “If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love. Don’t be surly at home, then go out in the street and start grinning ‘Good morning’ at total strangers.” — Maya Angelou

    Like

Leave a Reply

