Cover Reveal: ANOTHER KIND OF HURRICANE

Yup, it’s time for another cover reveal.

These are truly some of my most favorite posts. There is just so much adrenaline attached to seeing a cover for the first time. And so many questions: What does it look like? That’s the obvious one, of course. But also: How does it make me feel? Is it what I expected when I imagined the characters and landscape and energy of the story? and Who is the illustrator?

So the story of the moment I saw my cover is short but sweet.

My editor emailed me an image of Another Kind of Hurricane‘s cover as I was driving with my husband and daughter this summer. I saw the email on my phone, read it, saw the icon to open the jpeg of the cover, and almost clicked it right then and there. I mean, how could I not? But my husband urged me not to. He thought I should wait so that the first time I saw it was on a big screen. Okay, so he was right. I waited the excruciating, like, 15 minutes it took us to get to my folks’ house, turned on my computer, finally clicked the icon and…

 

 

Another Kind of Hurricane cover

 

 

Remember those questions?

What does it look like? This! It looks like this!

How does it make me feel? All heart-racy because of the wild rain and water and that house washing away, but also intrigued by those two boys staring at each other.  (And, oh oh oh, as the writer of this story, I also felt so excited and awed and amazed by it all.)

Is it what I expected when I imagined the characters and landscape and energy of the story? Yes! The color and movement in this cover feels just right. And those boys framing the whole thing – they anchor it all.

Finally…Who is the illustrator? Chris Silas Neal, illustrator of Kate Messner’s Over and Under the Snow and Mary Lyn Ray’s Go to Sleep Little Farmand simply an incredible artist.  I feel like Chris captured the essence of Hurricane. 

Wow.

*      *      *      *      *      *

Tamara Ellis SImagemith writes middle grade fiction and picture books. She graduated in 2007 from Vermont College of Fine Art’s MFA program in Writing for Children and Young Adults. Tam’s debut middle grade novel, Another Kind of Hurricane will be published by Schwartz and Wade in August 2015. She is represented by the incredible Erin Murphy of Erin Murphy Literary Agency, and can be found on the web at www.tamaraellissmith.com andwww.smithwright.blogspot.com.

10 Comments

Filed under cover art, Uncategorized

10 responses to “Cover Reveal: ANOTHER KIND OF HURRICANE

  1. Lori Mozdzierz

    Link broken 😦

    Like

  2. Congrats, Tamara! It’s beautiful!

    Like

  3. Lindsey Lane

    Excited with you!!!!

    Like

  4. It’s gorgeous, Tam. I’m so glad for you! The way the letters rise and fall is wonderful, and the colors are great. I also love how he showed the faces without showing the faces, so that the reader still gets to make choices about the characters’ appearances. Awesome.

    Like

  5. Janet Fox

    So beautiful, Tam!! I can’t wait to read!

    Like

  6. Christine Hayes

    Tam, it’s just wonderful. So compelling. Congratulations!

    Like

  7. mariagianferrari

    The cover is so stunning! Love the varied shades of blue. Can’t wait to read this one!!

    Like

  8. tamaraellissmith

    Thank you all! Your support makes me so much braver…

    Like

  9. This is such a powerful and unique-looking cover!! I love it!!!

    Like

  10. Simply gorgeous, Tam! It sounds perfect for the story, and I think will really grab readers’ interest. Huzzah! =D

    Like

Leave a Reply

