The Final Countdown

I have two weeks left until Book Scavenger will be found on shelves at bookstores and libraries. TWO WEEKS!

Last week, I received one of these in the mail:

CEVzPadW0AAvU7X

That’s the real, official hardback you will find on bookshelves on June 2!

 

I’m struggling to think of the words for how I’m feeling right now. There’s gratitude, for sure. Excitement. Some stress and anxiety. But there’s something else too. My launch week is going to bring my writing journey full circle in a lot of different ways. I’ll be doing a presentation for 225 4th-6th graders at my former elementary school, where I first daydreamed about one day being an author myself. I’ll be visiting two Creative Writing classes at my former junior high. My first launch party will be held at the Linden Tree Bookstore, a children’s bookstore right by my hometown. I worked at the Linden Tree over ten years ago when I was in graduate school getting my MFA in Creative Writing. My second launch party will be held at Book Passage in San Francisco. The first children’s writing conference I ever attended (back in 2000, I think?) was put on by Book Passage. (That’s where I learned about, and subsequently joined, SCBWI.) And, of course, San Francisco is the city I lived in when I first began creating Book Scavenger.

Is there a word that means nostalgic satisfaction? I can trace the seeds of Book Scavenger through so many stages of my life, all the way back to when I won the bookworm contest in 1st grade and was awarded a hardback of Little House on the Prairie. The aspiration to be an author has always been there. It sometimes became dormant if I felt like I was kidding myself, but it was still there in its brown and brittle form. It feels good to have finally finished a book, this book in particular, and to be happy with its final form. I’ve never been a runner, but I imagine publishing Book Scavenger is how it might feel to do a marathon. A decade-long marathon. Except with a marathon, you get to the finish and that’s the end of the race. And for me, I’m hoping this is just the beginning . . .

 

(If you will be in the San Francisco Bay Area on June 5 and 6, I’d love to see you at one of the launch parties! Click here for more information about the June 5 event in Los Altos, CA, and here for more information about the June 6 event in San Francisco.)

 

____________________________________

jenn.bertman-2002139Jennifer Chambliss Bertman is the author of the forthcoming middle-grade mystery, Book Scavenger (Christy Ottaviano Books/Henry Holt/Macmillan, 2015). Book Scavenger launches a contemporary mystery series that involves cipher-cracking, book-hunting, and a search for treasure through the streets of San Francisco. Learn more about the book at BookScavenger.com. Jennifer earned her MFA in Creative Writing from Saint Mary’s College, Moraga, CA, and is represented by Ammi-Joan Paquette.

You can find Jennifer online at http://writerjenn.blogspot.com where she runs an interview series with children’s book authors and illustrators called “Creative Spaces.”

8 Comments

Filed under Dreams Come True, Happiness, Launch, Satisfaction, Thankfulness, Uncategorized, Writing and Life

8 responses to “The Final Countdown

  1. tamaraellissmith

    Nostalgic satisfaction. I LOVE that, Jenn. A character in the story I am working on now likes to put two words together to create a new one and a new meaning. Nostafaction? Awesome post. And so so many congratulations. A long, circular journey, indeed. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lindsey Lane

    Jenn, what a beautiful convergence of destinies. The whole universe is saying yes and cheering. And best of all, you are noticing. YAY, you.

    Like

  3. Jenn, from the moment we met, I knew this day would come. I am so excited and thrilled for you! Hooray for “Book Scavenger” and hooray for you! 🙂

    Like

  4. mariagianferrari

    Hooray for Book Scavenger’s upcoming birthday!! And I love your satistalgia, Jenn–it will be so rewarding for you to celebrate in the places where your dreams were born and nurtured. Enjoy! (and take lots of pictures!)

    Like

  5. Congratulations and happy book launch!

    Like

  6. I am so, so happy for you. Presenting at your old elementary school sounds like it’s going to be an amazing experience. SO CLOSE, Jenn!!!

    Like

  7. “nostalgic satisfaction”! There must be such a thing! So excited for you, Jenn! Yay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

