Pin the Quote on the EMU & Win A Mystery Prize! It’s time to celebrate Jennifer Chambliss Bertman’s Book Scavenger!!

Do you love treasure hunts, puzzles and books? Then you’re going to love Jennifer Chambliss Bertman’s Book Scavenger!!

Book-Scavenger-cover

 

It’s an homage to The Westing Game, westing

 

Edgar Allen Poe,

poe

and the art of ciphering.

To celebrate Jenn’s book, we’re going to play a game of pin the quote on the Emu! Each Emu listed below picked a game that s/he would like to see come to life.  See if you can match the quote to the Emu’s listed below. Whoever accumulates the most points wins a signed copy of Book Scavenger plus a mystery prize! Each correct answer is worth one point.

Here are the quoted Emu’s in alphabetical order: Adam, Calista, Christine, Elaine, Janet, Jenn, Laurie, Luke,  Maria, Megan, Mylisa, Penny, Rebecca, Susan & Tam.

 

Ready? Set? Go!

Pin the quote on the Emu!

 

1).        I’d like to bring a Star Wars game to life. Space travel? The Force? Lightsabers? Yes, please. I’d either want to summon into existence a tabletop RPG campaign (like the amazing ones that my friend Lisa writes) or else I’d want to live in the 2003 Game of the Year: Knights of the Old Republic, the video game that made me love video games. Just thinking about that game makes me want to put on my Jedi robe (yes, I have one) and do katas while listening to John Williams. A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…

 

starwars

 

2).        My vote goes to “Ticket to Ride,” the European edition. Who wouldn’t want to see a train-riding adventure come to life? One game I wouldn’t want to come to life: Ouija!!

 

ticket to ride

 

3).        Oh, BALDERDASH! I haven’t got a CLUE how to pick just UNO. At first I thought this question was a MASTERPIECE, but with all this AGGRAVATION it’s causing my CRANIUM, I think it’s a real brain TWISTER. I’m SORRY. It BOGGLEs my mind. I don’t want to RISK my reputation on such a TRIVIAL PURSUIT, but I have so much TROUBLE with my MEMORY. I could just SCRABBLE around for an answer that is absolute PERFECTION, but I’m no MASTERMIND. Well, I don’t want to have a MONOPLY on this whole OPERATION, so YAHTZEE what I can come up with.

 

4).        Two Emu’s would like to see the game Hungry Hungy Hippos come to life. Who are they? Worth two points!       hippos_

 

5).        It would be amazing to see a real-life game of Quidditch. quidditch  I’ve also been a longtime fan of Clue, but that wouldn’t be a great choice since it would involve, you know, murder.  clue_

Chutes and Ladders would probably be a lot of fun as a real-life game!    chutes

6).        I’d love to see Parchesi come to life. I played it with my Grandpa whenever he babysat me when I was little, and wouldn’t it be just incredible, to imagine that the four “pawns” from the game are really four children on a dangerous, remarkable mission? And they have to make it through 68 obstacles (spaces, in the game) in order to get back “home.”

 

parchesi

 

7).        I would like to see Candy Land come to life with real candy/sweets at each stop. I would choose to be Gramma Nutt since she lives in a peanut brittle house on the corner of Candyland. I don’t think there would be much left of Gramma Nutt’s house by the end of the game. I’m sure I’d get hot playing this game, so I’d want to spend extra time at the bubbly Ice Cream Sea where Queen Frostine resides. My sweet tooth should be very happy by the end of the game.        candyland_

8).        I’d love to have a game like Jumanji come to life. The idea of falling into an “alternate world” and then have it pop into this one – especially with all those animals – I love it!

 

jumanji

9).        So one of the favorite games in our house is WHO WHAT WHERE…you probably know it?  You pick a card from the WHO (famous person or creature), WHAT (activity), and WHERE (location) piles and then have to draw a scene that incorporates all three.  So, for example, you might have to draw Big Bird ice skating on the moon.  It is so much fun for every single person in the family…fun and often funny! I would love to see WHO WHAT WHERE come to life.  Can you imagine it?  You pull the cards and then the scene magically comes to life…life sized too!  You could watch it for a moment and jump in and ice skate with Big Bird!

 

whowhatwhere

 

10).      Minecraft! Not for myself, but for my kids. I actually think it’s a great game (in moderation!) for problem solving and design and spatial skills. If you could combine that with physical activity and a separatedimension for all the endless and tedious Minecraft conversations, that would be a huge win!

 

minecraft

 

11).     I played a lot of Dungeons & Dragons when I was a teenager. My favorite character was Crafty Christina. She was a high-level thief, but chaotic good alignment, so she only liked stealing from rich, evil people and monsters. She was a gnome, and she rode a giant German Shepherd, who also helped her in battle. Camping and adventuring with a band of trusted friends… what could be better?

  Then and Now

12).      I’m a big gamer, so I’ll go with my current love, Lord of the Rings Online. When it comes to life, I will be a hobbit minstrel upon a white horse, healing everything in my path with my harp. Unless it makes me mad. If it makes me mad, I’ll put down my harp and shriek at it until it explodes.  lord13).      There’s a TV commercial where a man gets dropped into a life-sized version of Pac-Man, and my kids all think it’s just the coolest.

 

 

pacman

 

It got me thinking about my favorite video game as a kid: Q-bert. How fun would it be to jump around turning all the squares around you different colors? Actually, the more I think about it, the more I think it would be fun to watch someone ELSE jump around and I could offer encouragement from the sidelines. Life-sized Frogger would be amazing too, but only if the players don’t end up flattened when they make a mistake!

 

frogger

 

14).      I had a deck of “Old Maid” cards when I was a kid, and they had the most captivating (to me) illustrations. Half the time I ended up just using that deck to tell stories about the characters in the pictures. It would be riot, now, to see what those characters would say to each other if they could.

 

oldmaid

 

BONUS QUESTION WORTH 5 POINTS:

 

CAN YOU IDENTIFY THE GAME ASSOCIATED WITH THIS PHOTO?   

 

  parrish-shoes

 

Thanks again for helping us celebrate the launch for Book Scavenger! A general winner as well as a winner for this post will be announced on June 8th!

 

Want to hide or find a book, or see the latest activity, visit Book Scavenger’s website!

 

You can buy your very own copy of Book Scavenger at these locations:

 

Amazon.com

Powell’s

Books a Million

Indiebound

Barnes & Noble

 

Good luck!!

 

 

 

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “Pin the Quote on the EMU & Win A Mystery Prize! It’s time to celebrate Jennifer Chambliss Bertman’s Book Scavenger!!

  1. tamaraellissmith

    How fun is this?! Nice job, Maria! And so absolutely perfect for Jenn’s fantastic book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so great! It’ll be fun to see the answers revealed! I can’t play…since I’m an EMU, but I’m am going to put one guess out there. I think Luke’s is #3. It just seems to have his “voice”. 🙂
    Happy Launch Week, Jenn!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome! Maria, this is so much fun. Jenn, congratulations: the week is finally here, and we are all rooting for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m sorry to say, I can’t guess who goes with which game, but I will say that if “Ticket to Ride” ever comes to life, I am so there! I inherited my love of trains from my dad, so if he could come play too, that would be awesome! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. mariagianferrari

    Give it a whirl, Maryanne! You may just get some right, even if you just randomly choose a few. Trust me–you’re going to love the mystery prize 🙂

    Tune in later this week to see the results 🙂

    Go, Book Scavenger!!

    Like

  6. My best guesses….1. Megan, 2. Christine, 3. Luke, 4. Elaine & Susan, 5. Adam, 6. Janet, 7. Calista, 8. Maria, 9. Rebecca, 10. Tam, 11. Laurie, 12. Mylisa, 13. Jenn, 14. Penny

    Liked by 1 person

  7. mariagianferrari

    Thanks so much for participating, Bridget! The answers will be soon revealed. Any guesses on the bonus question?

    Like

  8. rubineleanor

    I suddenly wish I were really good at games and puzzles! What an inspired game and opportunity. Jen’s book sounds wonderful and I can’t wait to get it for my book-loving grandchildren.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. mariagianferrari

    Thanks, Elly 🙂

    Like

  10. Sheri

    Ooh, how fun, Maria! Congratulations to Jennifer! 🙂
    Here are my guesses:

    1) Jenn
    2) Tamara
    3) Luke
    4) Calista and Elaine
    5) Adam
    6) Janet
    7) Rebecca
    8) Maria
    9) Penny
    10) Susan
    11) Christine
    12) Megan
    13) Laurie
    14) Mylisa
    Bonus: Monopoly?

    Liked by 1 person

  11. 1.Adam
    2. Rebecca
    3. Luke
    4. Janet, Megan
    5. Maria
    6.Jenn
    7. Penny
    8.Tam
    9. Elaine
    10. Laurie
    11.Susan
    12. Calista
    13. Christine
    14. Mylisa

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lois

    Wow–this is tricky! Here are my guesses:
    1. Tam
    2. Laurie
    3. Susan
    4. Elaine and Janet
    5. Penny
    6. Rebecca
    7. Megan
    8. Maria
    9. Luke
    10. Christine
    11. Calista
    12. Adam
    13. Jenn
    14. Mylisa
    Bonus: Jumanji 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I don’t know anything about the EMUs so this is 100% guesswork, but something has to be right doesn’t it? 🙂

    1. Tam
    2. Elaine
    3. Janet
    4. Adam & Luke
    5. Laurie
    6. Calista
    7. Jenn
    8. Maria
    9. Susan
    10. Penny
    11. Christine
    12. Megan
    13. Rebecca
    14. Mylisa
    Bonus: Jumanji

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Lisa

    The book sounds awesome and so fun to read and puzzle over. . .I’m going to ride on Lois’s coattails and assume that her answers are right 🙂 I confess to not even having a clue about the mystery/bonus question but I’ll be eager to hear the answer.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. mariagianferrari

    Thanks, Lisa 🙂

    Like

  16. What a fun blog post/game! I’m going to give it a whirl:

    1. Megan
    2. Susan
    3. Christine
    4. Penny & Tam
    5. Jenn
    6. Janet
    7. Elaine
    8. Maria
    9. Luke
    10. Adam
    11. Laurie
    12. Calista
    13. Rebecca
    14. Mylisa
    Bonus: Jumanji

    Can’t wait to see the answers!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. My extra credit guess is Jumanji. I got so distracted that I forgot about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. mariagianferrari

    Got it! Thank you, Kristin 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

