Hi! My Name is Jason, and I Can’t Tell You Anything

When really, really good stuff happens, I have a hard time keeping it to myself. I love positive juju and I just want to share it with others all the time so that we can bask in rays of awesomeness together. Like, imagine if you were being swarmed by puppies. You wouldn’t want to hoard those little bundles of sunshine for yourself, you’d want to share the joy of puppy love with everyone!

dog-puppy-puppies-pile

Sometimes in the writing world, however, you don’t get to share those puppies right away. You can get really great news, but you have to hold on to it for a while when you want to SHOUT IT FROM THE ROOFTOPS!

giphy

And that’s okay, because then the excitement builds and it’s the best kind of waiting game. It’s like the reverse of anxiously biting your fingernails when you’re on submission, waiting to hear back if anyone is going to buy your book or not, only to find out no.

giphy

This is the best kind of news, and someday I will be able to share it when I get the go ahead (Hint: Focus on the “debut” part of EMU’s Debuts). But for now, here are a list of three INSANELY AWESOME things that I love that I can share with you, and you should go check them out until I can spread the word about other words that will become a book someday.

  1. Anjelica Huston’s two-part autobiography, A STORY LATELY TOLD and WATCH ME, in audio edition, read by Ms. Huston herself. It’s amazing, and you’ll hear tales of riding through windy Italian hills on a Vespa behind Ottavio Missoni wearing a Helmut Lang frock and you’ll realize that this is real life and not a romance novel.
  2. Pumpkin bagels at Noah’s bagels, toasted, open faced, half smeared with pumpkin shmear, the other half with peanut butter and strawberry jam. This is a very specific order, I know, but it’s the only way to go.
  3. Baby tapirs!

s2Vxv83

___________________________

DSC_2983Jason Gallaher is a children’s book writer who loves to create stories that mix the flamboyantly whacky with the slightly dark. When not writing, Jason zips about Los Angeles, California. He loves dinosaurs, unicorns, dinosaurs riding unicorns, and anything magical that takes you to a different world or time. Also, Anjelica Huston. Jason is a self-described Hufflepuff, and he is actively looking for an Andalite friend. Jason also occasionally enjoys writing about himself in the third person for internet biographies.

 

 

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Hi! My Name is Jason, and I Can’t Tell You Anything

  1. AH!! SO exciting to see this post of yours! I DO feel like I’m being adorably loved/mauled by a horde of puppies as a result. YAY!!! YAY!!! YAY!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looking forward to hearing your really good news. I hope you can break in line to tell us. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All right. All right. I’m looking forward to the official, publisher-sanctioned announcement but until then congratulations in the most general way. On that debut thing (title as yet undesignated.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope you are taking care of that unicorn that lived on your hat in Wisconsin! A herd of them would be even more wiggly than puppies.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mariagianferrari

    Looking forward to the day when you can spill the actual beans ;)! Welcome, Jason!! That baby tapir is just so cute!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hayley Barrett

    *COLLAPSES FROM BABY TAPIR LOVE*

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Janet Fox

    So happy you’re here, Jason, with puppies of awesomeness!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hooray for you Jason! In general and in unidentified specifics! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. tpierce

    Great teaser, Jason. And OMG the baby tapir is toooo adorable! Thanks for sharing some of your awesomeness 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. laurameressa

    Can’t wait for your debut, Jason! Yaaaay!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Yay for Jason! So excited to be following your Emu adventure. (That sounds like a good story in itself, maybe with a tapir sidekick. And you have to fend of a herd of adorable puppies . . . )

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Okay, Jason is a riot and I can’t wait to read what he’s written because I love funny!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. You’re a hoot, Jason!
    Talk later. I’m taking my baby tapir for pumpkin bagels 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  14. This made me smile. Your pure joy was such a gift to read. I am excited to hear and shout all your great news when the code of silence is lifted and it’s able to be shared. You are a rockstar, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. darceyrosenblatt

    Every time I see your smiling face it makes me giggle just a little. Can’t wait to hear the good news. Until then baby tapirs will suffice. Still kicking myself I wasn’t in LA to share space with you and the Sara Sargent.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Lindsey Lane

    I love you so much. There. It’s out. Can’t take it back.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Jason, CONGRATS from me and my better half! Looking forward to hearing more!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Yay for happy news that can’t be shared (yet), and for the time when you get to share it from the Internet Rooftops!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

