Bedtime Blastoff Launch and Giveaway

BB_Jkt_072915It’s the official book birthday of Luke Reynold’s BEDTIME BLASTOFF today. It’s a story of trying to get to bed. But, oh, the distractions when your bed can turn into a train, a pirate ship, a firetruck. . .

So we asked the Emu mob what vehicle they would have wanted their bed to turn into back when they were kids. Their answers (as well as some pretty spiffy photos of them as kids) are below.

Elly Swartz

20160119_142212-1

Let Elly drive the bus! Please.

“I would have wanted my bed to magically become a bus. That way I could have filled with it my dog, Missy, my hamster, Cinnamon, and all of my friends to head out on a nighttime adventure. ”

Debbi Michiko Florence

IMG_1111

Horse? Elephant? Giant bird? Hmmm.

“When I was little, I loved all animals. (I still do.) I slept with so many stuffed animals that I barely had room to move in my own bed. So, it’s very likely that I would have loved for my bed to turn into an animal – like a horse or elephant or giant bird – that could take me and my many stuffed animals on an adventure! (So not really a vehicle, but transportation none-the-less!)”

Janet Fox

JanetFox1

Sailed on a river of crystal light/Into a sea of dew

“My preferred bed:
A boat. I loved the song “Winkin, Blinkin and Nod” – so I wanted to sail off into a sea of blue, rocking on the waves.”

Andrea Wang

Andrea prairie dress

Andrea, channeling her inner prairie girl

“When I was little, I would have loved it if my bed had transformed into a covered wagon, complete with matching horses to pull it. Specifically, the wagon featured on the cover of Little House on the Prairie, with the white canvas bonnet. I eventually cajoled my mom into buying a white canopy for my bed, but she steadfastly refused to get me horses!”

Carole Gerber

Carole&Barb003

Carole and her sister (Carole on the left)

“a single bed! My younger sister and I shared a bedroom and a double bed until I was in 5th grade (and she was in third). We were both thrilled to get our own bedrooms and ordinary single beds when our family moved to a larger home.”

Jason Gallaher

Screen Shot 2016-01-22 at 4.58.15 PM

Yeah, a dinosaur. Brontosaurus, I think.

“When I was a kid, I wanted my bed to be a dinosaur. I know this isn’t a vehicle per se, but a brontosaurus can get you from Point A to Point B, so I think it counts. I would have a big ol’ nest of blankets on my prehistoric friend’s back, then let her lumbering steps lull me to sleep.”

For a great bedtime read, check out BEDTIME BLASTOFF and see what the imaginative kid and dad in that story come up with.

You can get Luke Reynold’s BEDTIME BLASTOFF anywhere books are sold.

Indiebound

Barnes and Noble

Amazon

Stay tuned all this week for interviews with the author and illustrator and a post that may give you some ideas for your own bedtime routine. And comment on any post this week to be entered to win a signed copy of BEDTIME BLASTOFF.

 

 

 

 

 

13 Comments

Filed under Book Giveaway, Book Launch, Celebrations, Picture books

13 responses to “Bedtime Blastoff Launch and Giveaway

  1. Luke Reynolds

    What a fun collection of bed-wishes and stories! I loved reading these, and thanks so much for sharing the awesome post Mylisa!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tamaraellissmith

    LOVE these. My youngest son turned his first bed into a train and he took his sister on night train rides all the time!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Love these answers! And Andrea – Bob saw your pic over my shoulder as I was reading the post and he said, “She looks like the Little House on the Prairie girl.” 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Carleen M. Tjader

    Fun answers! I, too, loved Winkin, Blinkin, and Nod as a child and could imagine slipping off to sleep in a sea of blue.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a fun way to celebrate Bedtime Blastoff! If you’re going to do school visits, Luke, the students sure would have fun answering this question or drawing their vision prior to you visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So fun to read these answers and see EMUs when they were kids!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Adorable stories and pictures! This book look so much fun.

    Like

  8. Kara Kudro

    This is super cute, when I was a kid I always wished my bed could transport me somewhere magical 🙂

    Like

  9. Traci Sorell

    I love these answrs, but I love the pictures more! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  10. mariagianferrari

    Love these stories & these photos!! Who knew you were a prairie girl, Andrea <3!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

