Who, Who’s Excited?!

Ooooh, it’s happening! It’s finally happening! I can officially announce that my debut picture book, WHOBERT WHOVER, OWL DETECTIVE, will be released by Margaret K. McElderry Books/Simon & Schuster in the summer of 2017. Here’s the announcement:

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 2.51.53 PM

You can’t believe how hard it’s been not to scream and shout all about this. Trish called me about this deal one year and three days ago (I may or may not have been counting). The anticipation to spread the news has had me like this:

giphy

But now I finally get to be like this:

giphy

Let me take you back to the time when I got the call. It was early in the A.M., and I was doing my usual morning reading routine in my fluffy white robe embroidered with a gold “J” (similar to the get-ups Laverne and Shirley wore).  It takes me a bit to wake up, so reading helps me get all my juices a-flowin’. I was still in my semi-groggy reading state when I get a call from “Tricia Awesome Agent Lawrence” (this is how I have Trish listed in my cellphone). The call instantly made me perk up.

Me: “Gooooood morning!”

Trish: “Guess what?”

Me: “What? What? What?”

Trish: “We just sold WHOBERT!”

Me:

giphy

Needless to say, I was Ex. Ci. Ted.

Here’s to many more robe-wearing, yelling-so-loud-your-throat-gets-hoarse good news for all us EMUs (and all writers everywhere!) in the future!

____________________

IMG_2512 - WEBJason Gallaher is a picture book and middle grade writer who loves to create stories that mix the flamboyantly whacky with the slightly dark. His debut picture book, WHOBERT WHOVER, OWL DETECTIVE, releases in Summer 2017 from Margaret K. McElderry Books. When not writing, Jason zips between Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. He loves creating punny names for cars and dogs, and often goes for midnight rides in his Fiat, Sofiat Vercara, with his Pomeranian, Pom Brokaw. Jason is a self-described Hufflepuff, and he is actively looking for an Andalite friend. If you know Anjelica Huston, please contact him immediately. (Photo Cred: David-Gabe Photography)

12 Comments

Filed under Celebrations, Happiness, Introduction, joy, Picture books, The Call, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Who, Who’s Excited?!

  1. mariagianferrari

    Congrats to you, Jason!!! It’s nice to be right next to each other in the same issue of PW :). Go EMLA!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Janet Fox

    AWESOME!! Picture me jumping around, too!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Giant congratulations, Jason. And, for the love of Pete, how is it possible to go a year and three days without getting to tell the world? What kind of barbarous test of endurance is that?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats!!! So glad you get to finally shout from the rooftops in a fluffy white robe!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hooray!! I’m so thrilled for you, Jason! Congrats!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations, Jason! Perhaps your next picture book will be about a year of suppressed screaming because WOW.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Happy for you! This title sounds interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lindsey Lane

    Ya-Whooooooo-ski!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Woohoo!! Or better yet, wooWHOOOOO! Congratulations! I’m so happy for you! Can’t wait to read this one! I have a soft spot for owls!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. kathyduval

    Whoo! Whoo! Whoo! Congratulations, Jason!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. katieslivensky

    Yay yay yay!!! I’m so glad you get to shout this from the rooftops now, Jason! (Finally!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

