Nervouscited!

I’m about to turn in my final manuscript to my editor so we can go off to copy-edits. Which means this is it. This is the last time I can make significant changes. After this point, my book is pretty much done.

200_s

…WHAT?!?!

Okay, so I thought I’d already come to terms with the fact that I’m going to be published, and therefore people (real people–people I don’t know and who aren’t in the industry) are going to read my words.

I was wrong.

PEOPLE ARE GOING TO READ MY BOOK, YOU GUYS! This is happening!

There is only one way to describe how I feel, and it’s best summed up by Pinkie Pie. (Yes, I use a lot of My Little Pony references in my blog posts. This is how my brain works, if you haven’t yet noticed.)

maxresdefault

I’m nervouscited.

As Pinkie Pie explains, “It’s like you want to jump up and down and yell YAY ME! But you also want to curl up in a teeny tiny ball and hide at the same time.”

I’ve tried to think up other things in my life–more normal things–to compare this moment to, in order to help my friends and family understand what exactly is going through my mind right now. But I can’t. There’s just nothing like it.

In a matter of days, a book I’ve worked on for four years is going to go off to be finalized, and I won’t be able to play with its pieces any longer. All I’ll be able to do is maybe make a few last tweaks to wording. All the major stuff is in its final form.

And people are going to read it.

Yes, nervouscited is the right word for me right now. It probably will remain the right word up until when my book launches next year. Probably past that, too. Maybe forever? Maybe this is what it feels like to be an author?

Excuse me, I think I need to find some chocolate.


Katie Slkatiemarsivensky’s debut novel (THE COUNTDOWN CONSPIRACY) tells the story of a 13 year-old robotics whiz who is thrilled to be chosen to train for an international mission to Mars, but soon finds herself and her fellow cadets in a situation far more dire and deadly than any of them could have imagined. Publication is set for Summer 2017 with HarperCollins Children’s.

Katie is a science educator at the Museum of Science in Boston, where she coordinates school visits, does live presentations, and runs the rooftop observatory program. With an academic background in paleontology and zoology, she only began dabbling in astronomy when she joined the Museum in 2009. It soon became a major passion, and spilled straight over into her writing life.

Katie lives in a suburb of Boston with her two completely absurd cats, Galileo and Darwin. She is represented by Ammi-Joan Paquette.

Visit Katie on Twitter (@paleopaws) or at her website, www.katieslivensky.com.

 

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Nervouscited!

  1. WOOHOO! So happy for you – and you nailed it perfectly! I’m adding nervouscited to my vocabulary! You ROCK!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Elly Swartz

    A perfect word to describe this process. Where joy and fear converge! Yes! Love the post. Can absolutely relate!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ha! Go easy on that chocolate, Katie. You can scarf down a lot in a year.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carleen M. Tjader

    Love the brand new word! And your book sounds cool!
    Congratulations.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Janet Fox

    Pinkie Pie knows all. I can’t wait to read this one, Katie!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kathyduval

    Perfect word! Looking forward to your book, Katie.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nervouscited with those wide eyed looks seems to fit perfectly together. Congratulations on your upcoming debut!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Best. Word. Ever. Congrats on getting your final manuscript in!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. YAY!!!!!Congratulations Kate! You nailed the emotion of that stage with nervouscited, coupled with Pinky Pie’s words of wisdom 😊
    I’m at the request/receiving blurb stage and knowing a talented author(and not my family) will be reading it, brings nervouscited to the next level. 😄 I’m looking forward to reading THE COUNTDOWN CONSPIRACY!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Sidetracked by Track Changes | EMU's Debuts

Leave a Reply

