Love Batteries

I think we can all agree that as writers, we stress out a lot. The pressure to find an agent, the pressure to write a stellar manuscript, the pressure to have an editor buy that manuscript then turn it into a book that becomes an instant bestseller can make even the most stable and sane author crack.

giphy

We all come up with our own ways to delay or lessen that writer stress. This past week, I discovered my new go-to stress relief: Love Batteries. What are Love Batteries, you ask? They are those little bursts of good juju you get from doing non-writer things with those you love. And the charge in those little Love Batteries goes from a tiny AAA to a Transformer-sized car battery when you can do those fun non-writer things with other writers who are in the same boat as you and need just as much of a boost.

giphy-1

I discovered this fact firsthand at the annual EMLA retreat. This wasn’t my first go-around at the retreat. The craziness and loveliness and silliness was something I’d experienced last year, but for some reason I didn’t catch onto Love Batteries during that getaway. I think it was because it was my first time among the snuggle bunnies of EMLA, and although everyone I met was ready and willing to give me a hug, I was too nervous as the new guy to realize the recharging benefits of my fellow writers’ love. But not this time. This time around I felt like I was back among family, and from that first moment pulling into the lodge carport with a half-dozen EMLAs waiting to hug and laugh and squeal with me, I felt those batteries recharge. At first I thought part of the week might include me pulling out my WIP, but ultimately I realized that nope, this wasn’t the time for that. That first spark of energy in the carport made me realize my Love Batteries were empty, and trying to write would only drain them further. So I played. I played like I haven’t played in a while. I swam in the ocean every single night, I sang parody songs with my writer pals, I got as close to making my dream of becoming a merman come true by dressing up like a merwhal, and I did it all surrounded by writers I love and who made me feel like I was loved back. I’m sure there were quite a few times when my EMLA sisters and brothers and I looked like this:

giphy-2

And at the end of it all, my Love Batteries were fully charged, and now I’m ready to rock. I’m ready to write stories that make kids laugh, I’m ready to create books that hopefully turn kids into lifelong readers, I’m ready to spread the love. If ever there has been a week when more love is needed in the world, this is it. Remember to recharge your Love Batteries often, learn to recognize the signs when those batteries are being depleted, and above all, have some extra love to spare when you see somebody who needs it.

I’m sending you some right now. Here’s to love.

____________________

IMG_2512 - WEBJason Gallaher is a picture book and middle grade writer who loves to create stories that mix the flamboyantly whacky with the slightly dark. His debut picture book, WHOBERT WHOVER, OWL DETECTIVE, releases in Summer 2017 from Margaret K. McElderry Books. When not writing, Jason zips about Austin, Texas. Things Jason loves include mapping how many degrees of separation he has from Anjelica Huston, pondering what Pikachu would look like in real life, and you. Jason is a self-described Hufflepuff, and he is actively looking for an Andalite friend. (Photo Cred: David-Gabe Photography)

 

7 Comments

Filed under Advice - Helpful or Otherwise, Anxiety, Colleagues, Creativity, Happiness, Inspiration, joy, Satisfaction, Thankfulness, Writing and Life

7 responses to “Love Batteries

  1. Love batteries. I like it. Even though I wasn’t at the retreat this year, it made me so, so happy to see all the pictures of the recharging.

    Like

  2. OH! You describe the retreat so well – and I, too, felt recharged. Love the love batteries & love you! Spending time with people you support and “get” you truly is recharging. You rock and I can’t wait for all your stories to become books!

    Like

  3. Elly Swartz

    Yes! This is such a great reminder. We all need recharging. In life and creativity! Love this! Thanks. Jason.

    Like

  4. Oh, gosh, I love the love batteries! You’re so right, Jason. We need to recharge and reconnect in big ways to keep up the energy to write and create. Bravo!

    Like

  5. mariagianferrari

    Great post, Jason!! Glad you’re all charged up & ready to go!! I’m looking forward to attending my first EMLA retreat ever–can’t wait to meet you & many others ❤ :)!!

    Like

  6. Darcey Rosenblatt

    And best of all you charge other when you charge up dude! Thanks for charging mine.

    Like

  7. tpierce

    Yes! That’s what it was, Jason. During the retreat, I’d hear fellow writers say that they were going off to do some actual writing and I never could quite wrap my head around doing the same, despite having brought two mss to work on. And now I understand why I couldn’t bring myself to writing. Writing would have disrupted the process of recharging my Love Batteries. Thank you! Now I don’t have to feel guilty about NOT writing at the retreat :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

