It’s All About the Writing – Right?

FullSizeRenderI remember when I was prepublished having a published friend tell me to enjoy the time before I got a deal because it was all about the pure writing and it would never happen again and it was lovely. At the time I felt like I was getting close – I’d had lots of requests for full manuscripts and encouraging critiques at conferences – but I felt like I’d been close for a long time and that illusive sale was still out of reach. So when my friend told me to enjoy this time I was full of mixed feelings. Part of me appreciated her confidence that I wouldn’t be prepublished forever. Part of me wanted to shout at her – ‘You’ve sold three books – just shut the front door!’ I didn’t shout of course. I tried to hear what she was saying, but I will admit that I’m hearing those words in my head loud and clear now in a way I hadn’t before. I am approximately eight months from my book hitting the shelves and while I am still daily ecstatic that I got that deal, my to do list is growing with the tweeting and postcard ordering and library outreach and all the things I need to do to get my story noticed. So I remember back to that time when my writing life was all about the writing. I won’t say I’m nostalgic, but I have this work-in-progress that I AM GOING to finish and get out of my hands this summer. Fitting in good long writing time and holding on to that love of pure writing – I’m putting that at the top of my to do list. Anybody with me?
DarceyHighResAbout Darcey Rosenblatt
Darcey Rosenblatt’s debut novel will be published by Henry Holt/MacMillan in spring of 2017. KEY TO HEAVEN, an historic fiction, tells the story of a 12-year old Iranian boy sent to fight in the Iran Iraq war in 1982. With her critique group she runs the Better Books Workshop – an annual small deep craft conference held in Northern California. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her fabulous husband and perfect daughter, some fish, a cat and the best dog in the world. By day she is an environmental planner and when time permits she paints and costumes for a 5-8 year old theater.

10 Comments

by | June 30, 2016 · 11:05 am

10 responses to “It’s All About the Writing – Right?

  1. I’m with you! I’m also starting to worry about all the stuff I’ll need to do for marketing and promo – like the things you’re working on right now. I still have a bit more time, but I do worry about that. I’m excited for your book release! Cheering you on!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats, Darcey! Sounds like you have an extensive plan to publicize your book.

    Like

  3. So true, Darcey! I need to put the pure writing at the top of my To Do List, too. But first, ordering bookmarks! 🙂

    Like

  4. Elly Swartz

    So true! I love this post. Could totally relate to relishing the privilege of simply writing. A great reminder. Thanks! 😊

    Like

  5. Darcey, such a great post and I have had the same feelings as you. I still do especially being 30days out! Exciting yet scary 😊 Congratulations on KEY TO HEAVEN! I look forward to reading it. I love MG historical fiction😊 You are doing all the right things!

    Like

  6. Darcey Rosenblatt

    Thanks. 30 days!exciying!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

