WHOdunnit???

whobert hoover

WHO, WHO, WHO doesn’t love a good mystery? Jason’s WHOBERT WHOVER, OWL DETECTIVE, is a delightful read that introduces young kids to the mystery genre through clever phrasing and hilarious illustrations. It’s sure to be a hit and become a childhood favorite for many kids!

As part of this week’s celebratory posts, I asked fellow EMUs what mysteries they remember loving from their childhoods.


For me, I berenstainbearsandthemissingdinosaurboneread all kinds of mysteries. But my earliest memory of a mystery I loved was THE BERENSTAIN BEARS AND THE MISSING DINOSAUR BONE. I enjoyed it so much, that later in life it became my go-to book to take to houses I’d babysit at, so I could share it with other kids!

As it turns out, I also loved a lot of the same mysteries as my fellow EMUS, so down memory lane we go!

 

Debbi says:ND1tsotoc

Here’s a funny-strange thing about me – as a child, I scared easily and did NOT like mysteries, and yet, I read them anyway. (I still scare easily as an adult so Whobert Whover is the perfect mystery for me.) As a child I LOVED the Nancy Drew series, but the covers scared me so much that I had to hide the books at night. I think I enjoyed RE-reading them more than reading them for the first time, because it was less scary once I knew everything was going to be okay. 🙂

 

Encyclopedia_Brown,_Boy_Detective_(1963)Sarvinder says:

I loved Encyclopedia Brown. I remember when I first read a book from the series. I was hooked. I don’t remember which title I read, but I remember the answer to the mystery, the clue that solved it, was that gold was too heavy to have been carried. I learned that gold is heavy! Encyclopedia Brown is so smart!

 

Christina says:

I love a good mystery, I have ever since discovering the Encyclopedia Brown series  – as nate the greatan affirmed geek, I got so excited to read about a smart kid who used his smarts to fix problems in his neighborhood, and to pit  my own brain against the same challenges.  And I liked John Keane’s books about dog detective Sherlock Bones, another animal sleuth like Whobert! But my favorite was Marjorie Weiman Sharmat’s Nate the Great series.  I loved how there were all these pets involved with the main characters, particularly Nate’s lovable dog Sludge and the deliciously creepy neighbor Rosamond’s four cats, Super Hex, Big Hex, Plain Hex, and Little Hex. I never had a cat or dog growing up, and there was just something about these kids going around and solving their own kid-size mysteries with their pets by their sides that appealed to me over and over again.

Hey, I’m just noticing something – all of these are series of books.  Is it possible Whobert will return to try to solve Who-Who-Who done it again in the future? Here’s hoping!


And that brings us to Jason himself! What mystery inspired him as a child? None other than the amazing television series, Ghostwriter!

ghost-writer-01

Jason says:

When I was a kid there was this show called Ghostwriter that I was robsessed with. This group of teens solved crimes with the help of an actual ghost they called Ghostwriter. Ghostwriter could move letters around that were near the wee detectives, giving them clues to whatever conundrum they were trying to solve. Between Ghostwriter and Casper, I was very pro-ghost in my childhood.


Jason, I think I speak for all of us when I say that we’d LOVE to see you take on a 90s-style-friendly-ghost-helps-kids-solve-mysteries project in the future! But in the meantime, CONGRATULATIONS on your launch of WHOBERT WHOVER, OWL DETECTIVE!


Katie Headshot.jpgKatie Slivensky’s debut novel (THE COUNTDOWN CONSPIRACY) releases on  August 1st, 2017 with HarperCollins Children’s.

Katie is a science educator at the Museum of Science in Boston, where she coordinates school visits, does live presentations, and runs the rooftop observatory program. She lives in a suburb of Boston with her two completely absurd cats, Galileo and Darwin, and is represented by Ammi-Joan Paquette.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “WHOdunnit???

  1. Oh goodness I’m so pro 90s-ghost-mystery-story!! I’ve got to start brainstorming ideas!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this trip down memory lane. Jason, what about a Whobert/Casper mashup sequel? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

