Emmanuel’s Dream Launch Party Continues With Agent Ammi-Joan Paquette

We are having a wonderful week as we celebrate the release of Laurie Ann Thompson’s new book, Emmanuel’s Dream: The True Story of Emmanuel Ofosu Yeboah. Laurie has done an amazing job of telling Emmanuel’s inspiring story.cover

Remember to comment on any post this week and you’ll be entered to win a copy of Emmanuel’s Dream.

Ammi-Joan PaquetteToday we are happy to have Laurie’s agent, Ammi-Joan Paquette, on the blog to answer a few questions about working with Laurie.

How did you come to represent Laurie?
AMMI-JOAN PAQUETTE: I first started corresponding with Laurie in 2010, when Erin sent her my way as someone she felt might be an excellent fit for my list and interests. She couldn’t have been  more right! Laurie and I corresponded for a good year, during which time she did some terrific revisions and sent me a number of her projects to consider. The more time that passed, and the more I read, the more I knew that I had to work with her. The combination of passion for her subjects, a strong desire to make a difference, and of course incredible writing talent had me hooked!

What was it about Emanuel’s Dream that caught your attention?
AMMI-JOAN PAQUETTE: EMMANUEL’S DREAM (then under a different title) was actually the first project that Laurie queried me with! At the time I was looking for a non-fiction author to work with, and both this character and his story really compelled me. I was also impressed that when I sent Laurie revision notes, she dug in with zest and really transformed the project.–Not only that, but during this time of revision she actually met with Emmanuel Yeboah in person (and came out of the meeting with 18 pages of notes, which she then used to inform her next draft). EMMANUEL’S DREAM has changed hugely over the course of its polishing, submission, and later still further after acquisition. But the core story is still the same as it first was, and it has only gotten more glorious in the retelling.

Laurie’s book, Be a Changemaker: How to Start Something That Matters, debuted in September. Emmanuel Ofosu Yeboah is a changemaker and did start something that matters. Does Laurie have other books on the horizon that highlight people who have changed the world?
AMMI-JOAN PAQUETTE: I guess you’re seeing a trend here, aren’t you? I can’t get into specifics here, but Laurie definitely has other ideas in mind spotlighting people who have changed the world. I love this side of Laurie’s passion and I’m eager to see how these next projects may come together!

We’re eager to see them too, Joan. Thanks for joining us for launch week and sharing about your work with Laurie.

*     *     *
 Remember to comment on any post this week and you’ll be entered to win a copy of Emmanuel’s Dream. Pick up a signed copy at  Secret Garden Bookshop (if you add your personalization request in the comments section, Laurie will sign it for you!) or check out IndieBound for a local bookstore near you. Of course, you can also find it on Amazon.com or BN.com.

8 Comments

Filed under Agents, Book Giveaway, Book Promotion, Celebrations, Launch

8 responses to “Emmanuel’s Dream Launch Party Continues With Agent Ammi-Joan Paquette

  1. I am so excited for this book, both for me and for the prospect of reading it to my kiddoo and watching their eyes as they realize how much can be possible with determination.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. tamaraellissmith

    I love this. Laurie, your focus on people who make a difference, who rise above the odds, who dig deep and find ways to BELIEVE…This is what we need in the world today. I love love love that you are offering kids these kinds of real and inspiring stories. xxoo

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am very excited to read this beautiful book.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Michelle Fandrich

    This book is on my TBR list for 2015 so would love to win a copy!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. mariagianferrari

    Great interview, Penny & Joan!

    I love the Changemaker theme in Laurie’s work too, Tam–it’s very inspiring!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks, everyone! It’s so fun to hear Joan’s thoughts from the other side of the desk (or Internet, as it were). She reminded me of things I’d completely forgotten (18 pages of notes, that’s right!). What a journey it’s been, and what amazing people are making it with me! HUGS!!!

    Like

  7. Sometimes it’s a book that changes the world (writing it, or reading it). I have a feeling this could be one of them.

    Like

  8. I’ve heard such good things about this book! Looking forward to getting my hands on a copy. 🙂 Thanks for this post–I always love hearing about the journey a story takes on its way to publication.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.