The Importance of Writing…

First, a disclaimer: This blog post might be a tad disjointed.

Being a part of the EMU’s Debuts website is, usually, a fairly non-hassle sort of thing. An occasional post on a topic dealing with the whole ‘debut’ concept, helping to promote other posts by other debut authors. But every once in a while life gets in the way of everything. This past week has been one of those times.

I’d had a pretty terrible cough for quite a while and, like too many men, I pretty much ignored it the best I could. It was just a cough. It was just annoying. I was very wrong.

For the past few months it had gotten worse and it had started impacting other areas of my life. Mainly it had started to affect my writing. There were too many days where I just could not find the energy or desire or motivation or inspiration to write due not feeling well.

I’d finished TWO different manuscripts in the time between HENRY FRANKS going out on submission and finding out that the book had sold. Two. I’d spent months revising and editing them both but neither one was ready yet to go out on submission itself. They still needed more editing and I just couldn’t find the ability to do any of it. Both manuscripts just sat there, listening to me cough.

Until last Monday, after three miserable days, I finally went to the doctor. The doctor sent me to the hospital. The hospital admitted me.

Believe me when I say that none of that happens if it’s ‘just a cough.’

Thirty-six hours later I was out of the hospital. One day later I was back to editing.

And immensely relieved to be writing again. Do I still have a long way to go, both health-wise and editing-wise? Yes. But I’m feeling better than I have in a very long time and the editing/re-writing has begun.

Being healthy enough to write means everything to me and is a big milestone in my recovery.

There are still five months and change until my debut novel comes out. I have a teleconference scheduled next week with the publicity team at my publisher to discuss…well, I’m not really sure what all is going to be discussed. But I’m greatly looking forward to it and will keep everyone updated on what happens. In other words: things are happening (and will continue to happen) as the date of release approaches. Between now and then I’m going to have to continue focusing on my health but plan to also continue writing/editing and working towards the release in September.

It’s going to be an amazing ride and I’m thrilled to be able to share it with all of you.

11 Comments

Filed under Writing and Life

11 responses to “The Importance of Writing…

  1. L.B. Schulman

    So glad that you have the answers you need to get healthy. It stinks when not-so-fun life events get in the way of writing. Here’s to some spit and polish on your other manuscripts.

    Like

  2. This post really brings to mind the proverb: “He who has health has hope; and he who has hope has everything.”

    So glad you’re feeling better, Peter!

    Like

  3. J. Anderson Coats

    It’s not just men who put off medical treatment. I once cut off the tip of my finger with a rotary quilting cutter. Rather than go to the ER, I pressed the bit of finger back on, tied the whole thing up with a calico rag, applied pressure and elevation, and went about my day. My husband flipped the frig out when he got home and found me with a wad of bloody fabric tied around my finger. He’s the one who made me go to the ER, mumbling about staph and disfigurement.

    Glad to hear you’re doing better, and good luck with your chat with the publicity department!

    Like

  4. Hi, you’re down to do Nonfiction Monday – are you still up for that? If so, here’s my link (-:) http://jeanlittlelibrary.blogspot.com/2012/03/nonfiction-monday-dolphins-in-navy-by.html

    I think people have been dropping links off over at the Nonfiction Monday blog, but Anastasia Suen is on spring break!

    Like

  5. Mike Jung

    I’m also glad you got yourself taken care of, Peter. I come from a long line of people who stubbornly refuse to get medical attention until things have progressed much farther than they should have been allowed to, and it’s taken me years to break my way out of that pattern. It’s definitely the way to go, however, for both your writing (which we all want to experience!) and, more importantly, your life as a whole.

    Like

  6. So glad you are feeling better, Peter. I hope that the teleconference and the editing go well!

    Like

  7. So glad that you got yourself to the ER and that you’re feeling better, Peter!

    Like

  8. Natalie Dias Lorenzi

    Glad to have you back here, Peter, and glad that you’re feeling well enough to write again. You’ve got many exciting publishing (and life) moments ahead.

    Like

  9. I am so happy that you’re on the mend, Peter!

    Like

  10. Pingback: Health | EMU's Debuts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.